The most complete Ry Cooder discography in the Universe
Image from Ry Cooder web site


Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
  1. Wild again (performed by Starship)
  2. Powerful Stuff (performed by The Fabulous Thunderbirds)
  3. Since When (performed by Robbie Nevil)
  4. Don't worry, be happy (performed by Bobby McFerrin)
  5. Hippy Hippy Shake (performed by the Georgia Satellites)
  6. Kokomo (performed by The Beach Boys - see below)
  7. Rave on (performed by John Cougar Mellencamp)
  8. All Shook Up (performed by Ry Cooder, "Get Rythm" track)
  9. Oh, I love you so (performed by Preston Smith)
  10. Tutti Frutti (performed by Little Richard)

Soundtrack Music By : Maurice Jarre (not this album)
Music Supervisor : Carole Childs
Produced by : Ry Cooder (track 8 only) and various

Postscript Although the above is all that is credited on the album, there has been debate on the Ry Cooder mailing list about whether Ry also appear on Kokomo. The following information was supplied by Gary Marker:

I can settle it right now: "Kokomo" is an RPC performance. It was produced by Terry Melcher and a couple years ago I was talking with him about his affection for Cooder's playing and Ry's ability to fit right into just about any musical context. Melcher told me, "I had Cooder play all the guitars on Kokomo, you know. And I think we went back and he overdubbed the bass on what was the final track."
So, I think the producer of the record "Kokomo" would probably have a fairly good idea of who played what on his session, and Melcher has no reason to lie about it.

Gary Marker

© 1988 Elektra

Information supplied by List member Stephane Rebeschini
Page created by Dave Mellor - comments welcome to

To Ry Cooder Soundtracks PageBack to Soundtracks page To top of the Ry Cooder web siteBack to Ry Cooder home